Born-Again Facebook

When someone becomes a believer, they are considered born-again. They were once born in a hospital or in a house, delivered by a doctor or a midwife or a nurse. That was their physical birth. When a person decides to follow Christ with all of their being, they are born again, but spiritually this time. They are beginning a new process of taking all the things they have done/learned/heard and applying those things in a biblical way- and if those things can not be applied biblically, they are thrown away.

Generally, this is a process. When a baby is born, it does not automatically start talking and walking and pooping on the toilet. That baby has to be taught how to do such things, as does a Christian when learning how to behave like a follower of Christ. Like a person learns and grows for a lifetime, Christians grow and learn throughout their whole lives, not just in an instant.

Basically, I am going through another phase of weeding out bad or unnecessary things in my life. Recently, I memorized all of 1 Corinthians 13. (I will type it up at the end, as practice in remembering it and as a good reminder of what love looks like for all of you) The part of those verses that God has highlighted for me today is this: “When I was a child I thought like a child, I spoke like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me.” This is AMAZINGLY true, because so often I struggle to let go of things like a child who does not want to relinquish a toy or a piece of candy that their parent is taking away for their own good. 

But I digress.

To get to my point in the longest way (because I can never use shortcuts in writing and storytelling), my Facebook life has been a roller coaster. Since the 8th grade (at which time I was 12 or 13 years old), I have had a Facebook account. At some point during junior high or high school I became best friends with a very sweet girl named Mercedes Anderson. Her and I started this silly competition of who could “like” the most pages on Facebook. My memory deceives me, but I believe over a couple years we reached upwards of 2,000 pages “liked”. Now, don’t get me wrong, we did not just go willy nilly liking all these pages we had no interest in. They were, for example, “Like if you remember the Powerpuff girls” or some kind of joke page like, “When you still didn’t hear the person after the third time they repeat what they were saying..”

We made up a laundry list of pages and things we were interested in. Back in the day, Facebook didn’t have “like” pages. The button you had to press to follow that pages’ posts was then called “Become a Fan”. When I clicked that button, I “became a fan” of whatever musician, tv show, joke, or otherwise.

Now my Facebook feed is filled with garbage from all these pages that I “liked” or “became a fan” of. This is exactly like our born again lives. We spend our entire lives (up until the point of salvation) “liking” things that are just going to pile up and get in the way when we decide to focus on what’s good. At this point in time, every single time I see a page post something that is inappropriate, or when I see an actor or actress who is completely against God post something, I go and “unlike” their page. My life is already full of my own junk, why would I want to read up on everyone else’s junk?

If you’re still with me or this post was TL;DR, my summary is this:

Changing your life to live for God is like changing your Facebook. You can’t get rid of the junk until you decide to throw it away.

Love you all,

Elise

1 Corinthians 13: “If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a clanging or resounding cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I AM NOTHING. If I give all I possess to the poor and offer my body as a ransom to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing. Love is patient, love is kind, it does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self seeking, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices in the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease, where there are tongues, they will be stilled, where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when the imperfect comes, the imperfect disappears. When I was a child I thought like a child, I spoke like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me. Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror, then we shall see face to face. Now we now in part, then I shall known fully, even as I am fully known. And now these three remain: faith, hope, and love. But the greatest of these is love.”

Leave a Reply

