Shifting Perspectives

As of tomorrow, April 8th, 2013, I will have been a vegetarian for 8 whole months. Now, when I started being a vegetarian I never would have guessed that I would stop. Something that my mom said really struck a chord, though: “What they don’t realize is vegetarians rarely stay vegetarians forever.” My mom (the absolute wisest woman I know) is completely right! She has a great point in saying this.

I’m not saying that this is causing me to eat meat again, cause it’s not! As of late God has been making it clear that it is not the lifestyle for me. Don’t get me wrong, being a vegetarian is awesome and I totally admire all of you who have stuck with it, more power to ya! But after trying it out for almost a year, I can honestly say that I know what it is like to be a vegetarian and now I don’t have to wonder what they go through and how they live life. I have not yet decided what meats I am going to begin eating again, but I have decided that sometime in the near future I am going to start introducing it back into my diet (probably beginning with things that contain chicken or beef boullion). These past eight months have taught me how to improvise with food, because under college circumstances I am not in control of what the dining halls serve. As a result of being a vegetarian and monitoring my eating habits, I have avoided gaining the freshman 15. (hollaaaaaa!)

With that being said, I am forever learning things I never thought I didn’t know.

….

if that makes sense.

🙂

P.S., Gelatin is first on my list of things to eat!

~Eli

Leave a Reply

