Vegetarianism

So, a month and a day ago, I decided to try being a vegetarian. Not for forever, just for a month. Now that that month is over, I am making a decision.

Let me just start by saying how difficult it is to quit meat cold turkey (no pun intended). It is not only difficult because of cravings, but your body needs that protein and it’s pretty detrimental to your health if you don’t get enough protein in your diet.  I resorted to legumes (cashews) and protein bars. The first few days were pretty difficult, but after that it was cake. I’m pretty good at resisting temptation. (:

I have noticed some weight gain, which is not normal because meat has a high fat content, but I will adjust my diet (too much cheese!) to fix that. I have a new found appreciation for vegetables, and I have dealt with everyone, and I do mean EVERYONE, not supporting my decision. Of course, my parents can’t force me to eat meat, and they haven’t- though they’ve tried. That is the most difficult part, lacking a support system.  ANYWHO! I have decided to stay a vegetarian. I don’t say this lightly. After pondering day and night for the past 30 days, watching my family eat chick-fil-a while I ate carrots and pretzels, and having to specifically find vegetarian options at every restaurant, I am going to stick with this.

The reason?

YES, God put animals on Earth for us to use at our own dispense. BUT he did not say “Thou shalt torture cows and pigs for eatery purposes.” So that being said, with the meat production system, I will NOT be supporting the torturing and mistreatment of animals.

In the future, if by small (almost impossible) chances, the meat market fails and the country goes back to family farming systems with HUMANE treatment of animals, I will -possibly- begin to eat meat again.

Someone I used to know said this: “I think it’s sad that humans have to be dependent on animals to live.”

Also, did you know that the amount of fields used to feed livestock could feed 100x more people, than the actual meat that is produced by feeding and raising the animals on those fields?

Hope that was understandable.

Point being, animals are eating all of our food, so that they can grow up and be eaten. Sense being made = none.

AND as a vegetarian, I can cross “Save a life” off of my bucket list. Vegetarians save 100 animals per year, Vegans save approximately 125-150.

What’s funny about all of this is that in 2011 I wrote an argument essay for English 102 that researched vegetarianism and humane treatment of animals and at the end us students were supposed to decide to choose one of the sides of the argument. I chose to NOT be a vegetarian then. Now, though, with an open mind, I will be taking on this challenge and sharing my story with whomever may ask.

THANK YOU for reading, and have a lovely day.

Leave a Reply

